Day by Day

Carly Mack
2 min readMay 10, 2022

--

For as long as I can remember, I have always been writing songs and singing along to every melody I heard. I would even harmonize to random sounds such as the microwave or that obnoxious beep you hear at the self-checkout. Growing up surrounded by the strumming of my dad’s guitar and my grandparent’s scratchy record player, I’ve developed quite the ear for music. As I got older, I realized my dream of becoming the next Beyoncé probably wasn’t the most realistic, and I gave up on my passion for a while. Within the past few years, I picked up music again and found a way to blend that with my other interest in public relations.

Earlier this year, a student whom I’ve never spoken to before approached me and asked if I wanted to manage his music career. He said his name was Hayden Stanford and mentioned that we were in the same music business class the previous semester. I said yes, and the rest was history. We’ve spent the past eight months traveling across Texas to various venues and recording studios, while simultaneously working on our degrees. We make a perfect team because Hayden focuses on the music, while I handle the business. Because we’re a small team, I’ve learn to multitask and I also take photos for his official social media accounts. I have met so many incredible and interesting people though this journey, and have learned so much because of them. Although I’m still relatively new to this industry, I’ve learned a lot and have accomplished things that not many people my age have. Looking forward, I hope that I can push Hayden to the next level and get him signed to a record label so we can build a team that will guide him to success.

After I graduate, I want to travel, and what better way to do that than to go on a world tour? My goal is to become a music publicist and go on tour with my clients so I can see the world before I settle down with a family. After spending a few years enjoying my youth and being on the road, I would like to move to New York City and work in the PR department for a major record label. Hopefully along this path I’ll miraculously become financially stable enough to start my own PR firm and become self-employed. I want to improve the way artists are treated in the music industry, and I hope to do so with my future company.

I have always been the type to over-plan my life and have every detail down to the T, but now I’m just seeing where life goes. I have goals and aspirations of course, but whatever path I need to get there will make itself clear when it needs to. I don’t know where God will take me, but I’m ready for adventure and I can’t wait to see what’s next in my life.

--

--

Carly Mack
0 Followers

Graphic designer based in Dallas Texas